Rennie W. Brantz Award for Outstanding Teaching in the First Year Seminar

About the Brantz Award-

Outstanding teaching in Appalachian State University’s Freshman Seminar program will forever be associated with the man who directed the program for over 14 years.

The Rennie W. Brantz Award for Outstanding Teaching in First Year Seminar will recognize the tireless, inspired and generous contributions made by those teaching in program.

Brantz stepped down as director of Freshman Seminar to direct the university’s Office for Judaic Studies, Holocaust Education and Studies in Non Violence.

His peers call him a master teacher, someone who brings commitment and enthusiasm to the classroom.

Friends and colleagues of Brantz contributed more than $12,000 to endow the award, which will be presented each spring.

Brantz Award Recipients

2005 - Debbie Poulos

2006 - Debbie Marshall

2007 - Beth Marsh

2008 - Nick Rudisill

2009 - Jeff Goodman

2010 - Elaine Gray

2011 - Jim Street

2012 - Michael Behrent

2013 - Bud Gerber

2014 - Trent Margrif

2015 - Rebecca Keeter

2016 - Sheldon "Skip" Rackmill

2017 - Nick Rudisill

2018 - Charles Smith

2019 - Lillian Nave